This article will explain what each individual can configure in their Google Calendar settings. If you want to understand how information moves between the two calendars, read our article on how the sync works.
NB! This article is meant for regular users and covers individual settings. If you are an admin user and want to administer Google Calendar rights globally, check out our article on centrally managed setup.
To connect your Google Calendar with Scoro, head to Settings > Site settings > Integrations > Google Calendar.
- Click Sign in with Google and log into your Google account.
- Grant Scoro access to your Google Calendar. If you have several calendars in Google, you need to specify which one you wish to sync with Scoro. We strongly recommend syncing only your work calendar to Scoro to ensure only the right data gets transferred.
- Save your changes to connect your Google account.
The first sync is activated right after these changes are saved.
Scoro is set as the primary calendar by default and Event sync is automatically enabled. See the settings section below if you wish to customize your integration further.
Note! When syncing your personal events from Google Calendar to Scoro, make sure you mark the visibility of these events as Private in Google. Otherwise, all events are synced to Scoro as public and the contents of the events are visible to everyone who has the right to look at your calendar.
Note! If you cannot change some of the settings, such as data sync options and sync direction, it means your site admin has decided to manage these settings globally across the site. Please contact the site admin for further information.
- Data synced – if the calendar sync is enabled, all events are synced by default. If you no longer wish to sync your Google Calendar to Scoro, you can either:
- toggle the Events sync off (if the toggle is not disabled by your site admin)
- disconnect your Google account
- Direction – determines whether events are synced both ways, to Scoro or from Scoro.
Note! If events are synced both ways (two-way sync), then Scoro calendar will always be the primary calendar. If an event is modified in both calendars between two sync cycles, the primary calendar will determine which changes will be taken into account during the next sync. For example, let's say you change the event name in Scoro and then also modify the description of that event in Google within 5 minutes. If Scoro is the primary calendar, the changed name is carried over to Google with the next sync, but the event description would remain the same. If Google is the primary calendar, then the event name remains the same, but the new description is sent over to Scoro.
- Start date – decide when events will start syncing. All events will be synced from that date onwards.
- Guests can modify events – when enabled, it gives guests the right to modify your events in Google. The event details will be updated accordingly for everyone. When this option is disabled, any modifications guests make to the event in Google will be reflected only in their own calendar.
- Guests can see and invite participants – when enabled, guests can see and invite participants to your events in Google Calendar. This setting is enabled by default and will also be automatically enabled if you allow guests to modify events. If you disable this setting, participants do not see other attendees and can't invite others to participate in events that they do not own.
- Send error notifications to – define the e-mail address notifications should be sent to in case of any errors.
Should any sync errors occur, you can view the logs by opening the Logs tab.
To understand what data is synced and how data modifications work, read our more detailed article on how the Google Calendar sync works.