Users are available in the Standard and Enterprise platforms and across all legacy plans (Essential, Pro, Standard, Ultimate, Core, Growth, Performance, Enterprise). Learn more about our Plans & Pricing.
This article shows how to create a new user account in Scoro and how to fill out the account details.
Jump to...
1. Adding a new user account
Only site administrators can create user accounts. To add a new user account:
- Go to Settings > Administration > Users and groups and click the Add user button.
- You'll be taken to the user modify view, where you can enter their identity and contact info, access and login details, and activate their account.
1.1. Identity & contact info
When creating a new user account, the User details section lets you specify basic identity and contact information (mandatory fields are marked with an asterisk):
- First and last name*
- Initials* – used in the user avatar if you haven't uploaded the user's profile image.
-
E-mail* – by default, the e-mail address of the user also becomes the username they use when logging in to Scoro.
- Email addresses must be unique – they cannot be reused, even if the previous account using them has been deactivated.
- Site administrators cannot update site users' usernames (email addresses) – this can be done only by users themselves under Settings > My settings > Profile. Learn more about personal profile settings.
- Business function* and Position* – select the options that best match the user's role. These fields customize the user experience by delivering product updates relevant to specific workflows.
- Job title
- Profile image – upload a profile picture to make it easier to recognize team members across the platform, such as in group events.
The Additional details section of the user modify view lets you add even more user details (expand this section to uncover the fields):
- Birthday
-
Language – if your site has multiple languages enabled, you can set the site language for this user's account (they can always change it later in their personal preferences).
- Scoro is currently available in English, German, French, Spanish, Estonian, Latvian, and Lithuanian. To activate any of these languages for your site, please contact our Support team via our contact form.
- Timezone
- Phone numbers (office, mobile)
- LinkedIn profile URL
- Description
1.2. Employment start and end dates
The Start date and End date fields in the User details section of the user modify view determine when a user's availability starts and stops. By filling out these fields for each new user you add to your site, you ensure that:
- New hires won’t skew utilization or capacity for periods before they actually joined the team.
- Users won't be considered available after their employment or fixed-term contract has ended.
- The utilization and availability data in the utilization report, team performance report, detailed work report, planner, and other views in Scoro are accurate.
By default, the user's start date is set to today's date, but you can change it to the user's employment or contract start date.
Providing the end date is optional – you can leave it blank for an open-ended contract, and the user's availability is then treated as ongoing indefinitely. Set an end date when someone's engagement has a known finish line, such as a fixed-term contract or an upcoming offboarding; from that date onward, their availability is treated as zero in the same three reports.
1.3. User access & login
The Categories section in the user modify view lets you set the following user access and login-related settings:
- Permission set – select the permission set that includes the access rights necessary for the new user. Learn more about managing permission sets in this article.
- Has administrator rights – enable this checkbox if this new user needs admin-level access rights on your site. Site administrators can create user accounts, assign permissions to others, and manage the site subscription. Learn more about site administrators in this article.
- Role – assign the most relevant role for the new user. Read more about roles.
-
User groups and User tags – select the relevant user groups and user tags.
-
Allow regular login in addition to SSO – enable this checkbox if Single Sign-On (SSO) is enabled on your site and you want to enable regular username (e-mail address) and password login access for this user. If you want them to only use the SSO login option, disable this checkbox.
2. User account activation
User accounts need to be activated and invited to your site. You can do that:
- When creating the user profile – keep the Account is active toggle and the Send an invitation e-mail checkbox enabled, and click Save to activate the user account and send the invitation email.
- At a later time – if you just want to create the user profile in advance, but activate the user account and send the invitation email later, ensure the Account is active toggle and the Send an invitation e-mail checkbox are disabled, and click the Save button when you want to save the new user account. You can activate the user later – click the user's name under Settings > Administration > Users and groups, enable the activation toggle and invitation sending checkbox, and save the changes.
The invitation e-mail includes the user account activation link, which is valid for 7 days. The user modify view indicates whether the user has activated their account.
After the new user activates their account, it is marked as active and occupies one user seat on your site. Learn more about managing user seats.
If the account activation link has expired, a site administrator can resend the invitation to the user:
- Go to Settings > Administration > Users and groups and click on the name of the user you need to resend the invitation email to.
- Enable the Send an invitation e-mail checkbox and save the changes.