Users and user groups are available in the Standard and Enterprise platforms and across all legacy plans (Essential, Pro, Standard, Ultimate, Core, Growth, Performance, Enterprise). Learn more about our Plans & Pricing.
Users are a core part of Scoro – every action, project, and piece of work in your site is tied to a user account.
This article provides a high-level overview of how users and user groups work in Scoro. We've included links to detailed how-to guides for user and user group management in this section.
Jump to...
1. User types in Scoro
There are multiple user types in Scoro:
1.1. Site administrators
Site administrators, or site admins for short, are Scoro site users with the Has administrator rights checkbox enabled in their user profile. Site admins can create and manage user accounts and user groups and control what can be seen and done on your Scoro site. Only site admins have access to settings pages under Settings > Administration:
- Plan, add-ons and billing
- Users and groups
- Permission sets
- E-mail setup
- Security settings
- Single sign-on (SSO)
- Activity log
- ELI settings
- Default user settings
When you first create a Scoro site, the site creator is set as a site administrator. However, you can have as many site administrators as needed.
Admin user access rights are also managed with permission sets, just like for regular site users. This means that you can have multiple site admins with different site access levels.
Site admins cannot log into other site users’ accounts or update their regular Scoro site login credentials (e-mail address and password).
1.2. Regular users
Regular users in Scoro are users without site admin rights. Site access levels are controlled by permission sets, meaning users can see and do what site administrators grant through their assigned permission set.
If you cannot see or do what you should on your Scoro site, reach out to your site’s administrator. For example, if you cannot see the Modify or Delete button in some view, cannot see the Export button in a list view, etc., it probably means you don't have the relevant rights.
1.3. Customer Portal users
You can also create a Customer Portal for your Scoro site. Customer Portal, or CuPo for short, is a limited-access version of your Scoro site where you can invite clients to access important information and work together on projects effortlessly.
Users you invite to your Customer Portal are called Customer Portal users. Just like with regular users, you can also create permission sets specifically for CuPo users with different access levels.
Learn more about Customer Portal.
2. User seats
Users are divided into active and inactive. Each active user takes up one user seat on your site.
You can't delete user accounts due to historical Scoro data tied to them, but you can deactivate them. When you deactivate a user account, you release a user seat that another user can use.
To increase the number of licenses on your site, go to Settings > Administration > Plan, add-ons and billing. Learn more about user seat management in our Plan, add-ons and billing article.
3. User permissions and access rights
Every Scoro site user is assigned a permission set – a group of permissions that control how much and what they can see and do on your site.
Learn more in our dedicated Permission sets article.
4. User groups
Site admins can divide users on your site into user groups – by team, by skill set, or however else you want to group them. One user can belong to several groups at once – for example, in the Management and Marketing Team groups.
User groups are used in almost all views in Scoro, allowing you to complete certain actions much quicker than by selecting each individual user. For example, you can quickly add a whole team to a calendar event by selecting the relevant user group instead of adding each team member one by one.
5. Managing user accounts and user groups
Site administrators can add, modify, and deactivate user accounts and user groups in the Users and groups settings page under Settings > Administration > Users and groups. This page has two tabs: Users (for user management) and Groups (for user group management).
- The Users tab includes all your site users, showing your active and inactive users, as well as awaiting users – those who have been invited to your Scoro site but haven’t activated their user account yet. Additionally, you can see the number of user accounts, total user seats available on your site, and the number of available user seats. Learn more about user seat management in our Plan, add-ons and billing article.
- The Groups tab is where you can create user groups and assign users to each group.
We have dedicated Help Center articles about user and user group management with step-by-step instructions: